Back to top

Student Council

Student Council helping at Senior Citizen's Christmas lunch

The Student Council has 40 members. 

Head Boy 2019: Hudson Staer, Head Girl: Anna Smith

Year 12 Prefects:

Kalira Docherty, Lucia Esposito, Liam Harris, Zoe Maccan, Finn Voight-Simpson, Caitlin Zanker

Faction Captains:

Dempster: Rebecca Darlow, Dana Sharpe

Eyre: Ruby Hodges, Keely Johnston

Flinders: Taya Neill, Casey Rowe

Rossiter: Holly Panizza, Erin Stevens

Student Council 2019

There are 18 year 12 representatives, consisting of 10 Prefects and 8 Faction Captains (two per Faction).

From these 18 year 12 Councillors, the Head Boy and Head Girl are chosen. The Councillors also elect students to fill various roles including Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, Publicity Officers and School Council representatives.

Students in years 7 -11 are each represented by four students, plus two students are elected to represent the school’s Aboriginal students.

The members are decided by the following elections. With the year 12 positions all students and staff are eligible to vote. With the other positions the relevant students from each year group, and staff, vote.

The Council meets fortnightly, but weekly when the need arises.

The core business is to make the school the best it can be from a student’s perspective. To that end they take on projects, and run activities, that are designed to improve the physical and social aspects of the school.

They also carry out fund raising activities to support their World Vision child in Tanzania, as well as a number of other charities and causes.

On occasions they will also supply assistance at activities like the Senior Citizen’s Christmas lunch, Shire planning meetings and the like.


Robert John, World Vision sponsored child.